Alexander, Frist Announce $10.2 Million In HUD Grants For East Tennessee

Posted on August 23, 2004

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senators Bill Frist (R-TN) and Lamar Alexander (R-TN) today announced that 21 East Tennessee cities will receive a total of over $10.2 million dollars in Capital Fund Program grants from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). "HUD's investment in East Tennessee will encourage a sense of community, foster job growth and ensure every family has a place to call home," said Frist. "This funding is a significant step for economic development throughout the 21-city region." "I appreciate HUD's investment to help strengthen Tennessee communities," Alexander said. "These funds will revitalize neighborhoods across 21 East Tennessee cities, giving families better places to live. Senator Frist and I will continue to work with HUD Secretary Alphonso Jackson to bring needed improvements to Tennessee." The Capital Fund is awarded on an annual basis to 3,160 public housing authorities (PHAs) nationwide. For fiscal year 2004, Tennessee has received over $59.8 million to 82 PHAs, including $10,218,783 to 21 PHAs in East Tennessee: Athens $740,309 Cleveland $673,879 Clinton $241,898 Crossville $468,194 Dayton $495,434 Etowah $238,740 Harriman $557,169 Jefferson City $332,347 Jellico $215,077 LaFollette $1,766,480 Lenoir City $231,155 Loudon $211,297 Maryville $575,243 Morristown $1,156,076 Newport $643,840 Oak Ridge $212,811 Oliver Springs $205,910 Rockwood $218,826 Sevierville $399,374 South Pittsburg $321,099 Sweetwater $303,625 The Capital Fund may be used for a variety of activities including modernization, development, financing and management improvements. Grant amounts may also include replacement housing factor grants (RHF) for those PHAs that demolished or disposed of public housing units in prior year(s). An RHF grant must be used to build new developments or acquire and rehabilitate a development. Tennessee will receive a total of $59,810,617 in HUD Capitol Fund Program grants.