Alexander, Frist Announce More Federal Disaster Aid To Tennesseans In Need

Posted on May 19, 2003

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senators Bill Frist (R-TN) and Lamar Alexander (R-TN) today announced President Bush has granted Gov. Bredesen's third request for aid for Tennessee counties that have been impacted by severe storms since May 4. "I applaud President Bush's prompt attention to providing Tennessee with the disaster relief necessary to rebuild the homes, businesses and communities which were impacted by the recent storms," said Frist. "The task of assessing the damage is just the first hurdle, and I've been pleased at the collaborative efforts at the local, state and federal level to ensure families have the resources they need. I'm confident that this volunteer spirit will be evident throughout the rebuilding effort." "Senator Frist and I will continue working with local, state and federal officials to make sure Tennesseans receive the aid they need as they recover from the severe storms that ripped through Tennessee," Alexander said. The following 18 counties are now eligible for Public Assistance funds: Bradley, Cumberland, Gibson, Giles, Hamilton, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Lake, Maury, Obion, Rhea, Roane, Rutherford, Smith, Tipton, Trousdale, and Wayne. Many of these counties were already made eligible for Individual Assistance in previous requests. Counties now eligible for Individual Assistance are Hardin, Morgan and Sumner counties.