Alexander, Frist Applaud Eastview Elementary School As Blue Ribbon School

Distinction Honors Greeneville School For High Student Achievement

Posted on September 21, 2004

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senators Bill Frist (R-TN) and Lamar Alexander (R-TN) today announced that Eastview Elementary School in Greeneville has been awarded the prestigious No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon School Award by the Department of Education. The award is presented to elementary and secondary schools nationwide in honor of their academic achievements. "I commend the students, teachers and parents of Eastview Elementary School for their superior academic achievements," Frist said. "Creating outstanding educational experiences for Tennessee's children remains our first priority and I am thrilled to see that our schools are already benefiting from the landmark No Child Left Behind program." "Congratulations to Eastview Elementary School for being one of the five Blue Ribbon Schools in Tennessee this year," said Alexander. "This award recognizes all of our teachers, parents and students. I applaud their efforts and will continue to encourage schools across Tennessee and the nation to keep up the hard work." The No Child Left Behind-Blue Ribbon Schools Award is given to public and private K-12 schools that are either academically superior in their state or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement. Eastview Elementary School is one of the five Tennessee schools this year to receive the blue ribbon distinction. In determining recipients for the award, the program requires schools to meet either of two assessment criteria: It recognizes schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that dramatically improve student performance in accordance with state assessment systems; and it rewards schools that score in the top 10 percent on state assessments. Both Frist and Alexander are members of the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee, which carefully evaluates education legislation that moves through the Senate.