Alexander, Corker: Today’s Approval of McNairy, Tipton and Wayne Counties for Disaster Assistance Will Help Recovering Families and Businesses

19 Tennessee Counties Now Eligible for Some Type of Federal Assistance Following Tornadoes

Posted on March 10, 2008

U.S. Senators Lamar Alexander (R-TN) and Bob Corker (R-TN) said today’s announcement that McNairy, Tipton and Wayne counties are approved for individual assistance from the federal government will provide grants and loans to individuals or businesses needing financial help for temporary housing, home repairs and other expenses related to the deadly storms that hit Tennessee in February. Today’s announcement means a total of 19 Tennessee counties have been authorized to receive some form of federal aid in response to the February tornadoes. Benton, Fayette, Fentress, Hardin, Haywood, Hickman, Houston, Lewis, Macon, Madison, McNairy, Montgomery, Perry, Shelby, Sumner, Tipton, Trousdale, Wayne and Williamson counties are eligible for federal assistance to help Tennesseans and area businesses trying to rebuild. “I’m grateful that these three counties have been approved for individual assistance,” said Alexander. “The citizens of McNairy, Tipton and Wayne counties will now be eligible to apply for grants and loans to help rebuild their homes and businesses. So far, $6.7 million has been approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, and I think the response from the federal government has been the best I’ve seen in my 30 years of working in public service. I will continue to work with the Governor Bredesen and the Tennessee Congressional delegation to make sure we are providing storm victims with the help they need.” “Today’s news means that citizens in McNairy, Tipton and Wayne counties are eligible for grants and loans to help them pay for temporary housing, repairs to their homes and other expenses related to the devastation caused by the deadly storms that hit our state last month. That’s good news for these citizens who are working to rebuild and recover,” said Corker. “There’s no doubt that this has been a time of grief for so many people in our state, but I believe we've also seen something uplifting: FEMA, TEMA, local agencies and volunteers have responded to this disaster in incredible ways and with unprecedented cooperation. Senator Alexander and I will continue working with state and local officials to do all we can to respond to Tennesseans in this time of need.” Residents and business owners with losses in the designated counties can apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or by registering online at Citizens are also encouraged to call Alexander’s and Corker’s local offices for assistance in navigating federal aid. Alexander Jackson Office: 731-423-9344 Alexander Memphis Office: 901-544-4224 Alexander Nashville Office: 615-736-5129 Corker Jackson Office: 731-424-9655 Corker Memphis Office: 901-683-1910 Corker Nashville Office: 615-279-8125 ###