Alexander, Frist Request Disaster Assistance For Tennessee

Posted on March 17, 2003

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senators Bill Frist (R-TN) and Lamar Alexander (R-TN) today sent a letter urging President Bush to approve Tennessee's request for disaster assistance for 28 counties in Middle and East Tennessee, which were severely impacted by heavy rains, severe storms and flooding that occurred beginning on February 14. The letter is in support of an earlier request from Tennessee Governor Phil Bredesen. "February's flooding conditions devastated communities throughout Tennessee, damaging roads, bridges, utilities and buildings," said Frist. "Assistance is needed to help these communities repair damages, and I urge the President's immediate support for Tennessee's disaster relief request." "The residents of these 28 counties need help after being hit by heavy rains and flooding last month," said Alexander. "We're asking President Bush to act quickly and to grant these Tennesseans the assistance they need to rebuild." In a letter on March 17, Frist and Alexander urged President Bush's prompt attention to Governor Bredesen's request for disaster assistance. The counties affected include Anderson, Bledsoe, Campbell, Cannon, Carter, Claiborne, Cumberland, Decatur, Fentress, Grainger, Hancock, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Johnson, Knox, Lewis, Loudon, Marion, Meigs, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sequatchie, Stewart, Unicoi, Union, and Van Buren Counties.