Posted on November 8, 2007

U.S. Senators Lamar Alexander (R-TN) and Bob Corker (R-TN) issued the following statements today after the U.S. Senate voted to override President Bush’s veto of The Water Resources Development Act of 2007. This legislation authorizes repairs and replacements for aging Tennessee dams and locks, revitalizes riverfront developments, bolsters flood control efforts and aids more than a dozen state water quality projects. "As Tennessee suffers from a record-setting drought, passing the Water Resources Development Act is one way the federal government can help,” Alexander said. “By improving dams and other water infrastructure, we will enable communities to store and provide more clean water in times of need like this drought. This bill also is exactly the kind of legislation we need because it sets appropriate funding limits by capping what Congress should spend on these projects, while giving the Corps of Engineers the authority it needs to carry out repairs on our aging infrastructure.” “Congress hasn’t passed WRDA legislation since 2000, so this authorization bill is long overdue,” said Corker. “Making sure our waterways are safe and clean and that we have the infrastructure in place to be competitive is very important, especially in a state like Tennessee that is home to a wealth of rivers, lakes and streams.” The Water Resources Development Act of 2007 authorizes funding for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and helps provide the Corps with the confidence to make long-term contract agreements and allocate their budget efficiently. The $23 billion bill passed the House by a vote of 381 to 40, and passed the Senate by a vote of 81 to 12. President Bush vetoed the legislation on November 2. A two-thirds majority of both the House and Senate is required to override a veto. Earlier this week the House voted 361 to 54 to override the veto while the Senate voted today to override by a 79 to 14 vote. Further information regarding Tennessee projects in the bill for each of the state’s congressional districts can be found by clicking on the links below: 1st Congressional District 2nd Congressional District 3rd Congressional District 4th Congressional District 5th Congressional District 7th Congressional District 8th Congressional District 9th Congressional District