Alexander, Frist Introduce Resolution Congratulating Graceland

Posted on March 27, 2006

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Bill Frist (R-Tenn.) and Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) today announced that they have coauthored a Senate resolution congratulating Graceland on its designation as a National Historic Landmark. The resolution, which will be introduced later today, recognizes Graceland as exceptionally valuable for promoting and illustrating the contributions of Elvis Presley to the music and popular culture of the nation. “As I witnessed when touring the estate just two weeks ago, visitors from around the world come to Graceland to learn more about Elvis Presley’s life and music,” Frist said. “The designation of Graceland as a National Historic Landmark recognizes its special place in American culture and ensures that future generations can continue to come to Memphis to experience Elvis Presley’s extraordinary musical heritage.” “Anywhere Tennesseans go in the world, they are asked about Elvis and his Memphis home,” Alexander said. “By designating Graceland as a National Historic Landmark, the National Park Service is recognizing what we’ve known in Tennessee for a long time – Elvis Presley’s life and home is of national – and international – significance. I’m proud that Elvis called Tennessee home and that 600,000 visitors come to Graceland each year to experience the life and career of an American legend.” “Majority Leader Frist and Senator Alexander deserve to be commended for their leadership,” Secretary of the Interior Gale Norton said. “They have supported our National Historic Landmark program, and not surprisingly, they have shown special enthusiasm for this Graceland designation.” Graceland, Elvis’ home from 1957 to 1977, welcomes over 600,000 visitors each year and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1991. Only three percent of sites listed on the National Register of Historic Places go on to be designated a National Historic Landmark. Graceland joins less than 2,500 other historic sites deemed nationally significant by the National Parks Service.