Alexander, Frist Announce Disaster Assistance For Tennessee

Posted on May 8, 2003

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senators Bill Frist (R-TN) and Lamar Alexander (R-TN) today announced that President Bush has approved public assistance for counties in Middle and West Tennessee, which were severely impacted by tornadoes and severe storms that occurred beginning on May 4. "I'm pleased that President Bush approved Tennessee's urgent request for disaster assistance so quickly," said Frist. "Senator Alexander and I are committed to working with Governor Bredesen to see that the communities impacted by these storms receive the assistance they need. In the spirit of our great state, Tennessee will rebuild and move forward." "I applaud the President's prompt response," said Alexander. "This was clearly a disaster. This aid will encourage Tennesseans who are working hard to rebuild their lives, homes and businesses." In a letter on May 7, Frist and Alexander, along with Congressmen Marsha Blackburn, Jim Cooper, Bart Gordon and John Tanner, urged President Bush's prompt attention to Gov. Phil Bredesen's request for disaster assistance. The counties receiving public assistance in today's declaration include Carroll, Cheatham, Chester, Crockett, Dickson, Dyer, Gibson, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, Montgomery, Obion, Robertson, Stewart and Weakley. All Tennessee counties are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. After further evaluations, additional assistance designations may be made at a later date.