Alexander, Corker, L. Davis Announce $25,000 for Motlow State Community College

Say Funding Will Help Expand Nursing Program

Posted on October 10, 2008

U.S. Senators Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Bob Corker (R-Tenn.) and U.S. Representative Lincoln Davis (D-Tenn.4th) today announced $25,000 in funding for the nursing program at the McMinnville Warren County branch of Motlow State Community College from the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC). “With the current nursing shortage, this funding to support the nursing program at Motlow State is especially important to ensure that Lynchburg residents get the care they need,” Sen. Lamar Alexander said. “ARC’s continued investment in our rural communities is bringing a better way of life to many Tennesseans.” “Tennessee and the nation suffer from a lack of nurses, which affects access to health care for our citizens, particularly for those living in rural areas. This expansion of Motlow State Community College’s nursing program will mean more qualified nurses who are able to care for more Tennesseans,” Sen. Bob Corker said. “I thank the ARC for its continued investment in the future of East Tennessee and all of Appalachia.” “I applaud Motlow State Community College for expanding their nursing school so more qualified nurses will be available in our communities,” said Congressman Lincoln Davis. “I thank the ARC for continuously stepping up and providing badly needed investments in basic infrastructure and healthcare initiatives in our historically underserved rural areas.” ARC funds, along with $25,000 from local sources, will be used to purchase needed equipment to support the expansion of Motlow State Community College’s (MSCC) nursing program at the Warren County McMinnville Campus. With the expanded nursing program, Motlow State expects to add over 116 students over the next two years that will graduate and go on to improve health care options for citizens in Tennessee. The ARC is a federal-state partnership that supports economic development and improved quality of life in Appalachia. Appalachia, as defined in the legislation from which the ARC derives its authority, is a 200,000-square-mile region that follows the spine of the Appalachian Mountains from southern New York to northern Mississippi. It includes all of West Virginia and parts of 12 other states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. About 23 million people live in the 410 counties of the Appalachian Region; 42 percent of the Region's population is rural, compared with 20 percent of the national population. The Tennessee counties included as part of the ARC include: Anderson, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Cannon, Carter, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke, Coffee, Cumberland, De Kalb, Fentress, Franklin, Grainger, Greene, Grundy, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Lewis, Loudon, McMinn, Macon, Marion, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Overton, Pickett, Polk, Putnam, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Smith, Sullivan, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Warren, Washington, and White.