Alexander, Corker, Gordon Announce $272,900 for Clay County Water System

Say Funding Will Extend Public Water Service In Clay County

Posted on October 9, 2008

U.S. Senators Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Bob Corker (R-Tenn.) and U.S. Representative Bart Gordon (D-Tenn.6th) today announced $272,900 in funding for the Clay County water supply from the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC). “I’m glad to see this funding coming to Clay County to provide more residents with access to clean, safe water,” Sen. Lamar Alexander said. “ARC’s continued investment in our rural communities is bringing a better way of life to many Tennesseans.” “This funding will provide first-time public water service to citizens who do not currently have access to clean, safe, reliable sources of water,” Sen. Bob Corker said. “This should significantly improve the lives of these Clay County residents, and I thank the ARC for its continued investment in the future of East Tennessee and all of Appalachia.” “There are far too many residents in Clay County that do not have access to clean water,” said Congressman Bart Gordon. “While this ARC grant will give 32 households access, I am committed to working with my colleagues to get the funds needed to supply public water services to every household in Clay County and throughout the Middle Tennessee and Appalachian area.” This funding will help Clay County to extend water distribution along Clifton Rich Road. The ARC funds, along with $69,100 from local sources, will provide first-time public water service to 32 households. These residents do not currently have access to clean, safe, reliable sources of water and must haul water for personal consumption and household use. The project will install about 2.5 miles of water line, enabling water service by the Celina Water Department. The ARC is a federal-state partnership that supports economic development and improved quality of life in Appalachia. Appalachia, as defined in the legislation from which the ARC derives its authority, is a 200,000-square-mile region that follows the spine of the Appalachian Mountains from southern New York to northern Mississippi. It includes all of West Virginia and parts of 12 other states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. About 23 million people live in the 410 counties of the Appalachian Region; 42 percent of the Region's population is rural, compared with 20 percent of the national population. The Tennessee counties included as part of the ARC include: Anderson, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Cannon, Carter, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke, Coffee, Cumberland, De Kalb, Fentress, Franklin, Grainger, Greene, Grundy, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Macon, Marion, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Overton, Pickett, Polk, Putnam, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Smith, Sullivan, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Warren, Washington, and White.