Members of Tennessee Delegation Urge Disaster Declaration for Five Counties Struck by Storms

Posted on July 7, 2009

U.S. Senators Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Bob Corker (R-Tenn.) and U.S. Representatives Phil Roe (R-Tenn. 1), Zach Wamp (R-Tenn. 3), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn. 7), John Tanner (D-Tenn. 8), and Steve Cohen (D-Tenn. 9) have joined Governor Phil Bredesen in requesting that President Obama issue a federal disaster declaration for five counties in Tennessee to help state and local governments recover costs for damages related to recent storms. According to their letter to President Obama, “On June 12, 2009, high winds – including tornadoes – struck several counties in our state, causing significant damage in Claiborne, Fayette, Hancock, Haywood and Shelby Counties. These disasters have placed a significant burden on state and local governments because of recovery costs. Therefore, we respectfully request that you make assistance available to these counties in accordance with the Governor’s request.”