Alexander, Corker Introduce Bill to Allow Hickman, Perry and Wayne Counties to Participate in Appalachian Regional Commission

Posted on November 5, 2013

WASHINGTON, Nov. 5 – U.S. Senators Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Bob Corker (R-Tenn.) today introduced legislation to allow Hickman, Perry and Wayne counties to participate in economic development programs operated by the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC).

“Expanding the Appalachian Regional Commission’s services to Hickman, Perry and Wayne counties will help build on the commission’s efforts to encourage job growth and infrastructure improvements in some of the most economically challenged parts of our state,” said Alexander.

“The ARC was created to strengthen one of the most economically challenged regions in our nation, and I hope it will be of assistance to these counties, which face significant obstacles in achieving sustainable economic development,” said Corker.

The Appalachian Region, as defined in ARC's authorizing legislation, is a 205,000-square-mile region that follows the spine of the Appalachian Mountains from southern New York to northern Mississippi. It includes all of West Virginia and parts of 12 other states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia. Forty-two percent of the region's population is rural, compared to 20 percent of the national population.

The ARC is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state and local government. Established by an act of Congress in 1965, ARC is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. Local participation is provided through multi-county local development districts.

Alexander and Corker’s legislation would add Hickman, Perry and Wayne counties to 52 counties in Tennessee that are currently part of the Appalachian Region.