Alexander Announces Enzi, Isakson, Paul Will Serve as HELP Subcommittee Chairmen for the 116th Congress

Posted on January 16, 2019

WASHINGTON, January 16, 2019 — Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee Chairman Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) announced the chairs and assignments for the committee’s three subcommittees for the 116th Congress, after committee members approved the subcommittees and rules today. The three subcommittees are Primary Health and Retirement Security, led by Sen. Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.); Employment and Workplace Safety, led by Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.); and Children and Families, led by Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.).  

Alexander said, “This committee affects the lives of virtually every American. We have a lot of important work ahead of us this Congress, and I am confident Senators Enzi, Isakson, and Paul will deliver results on behalf of families across our country.”

Enzi will lead the Subcommittee on Primary Health and Retirement Security, which has jurisdiction over issues including the Health Resources and Services Administration, substance abuse and mental health, oral health, health care disparities, railroad retirement, private retirement plans and the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation through the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), and the domestic activities of the Red Cross.

Isakson will lead the Subcommittee on Employment and Workplace Safety, which has jurisdiction over employment issues, including workforce education and training, worker health and safety, wage and hour laws, and workplace flexibility. 

Paul will lead the Subcommittee on Children and Families, which has jurisdiction over issues including Head Start; child care and child support, such as programs that fall under the Child Care & Development Block Grant; the Family Medical Leave Act; National Service; women and children’s health care; and other issues involving children, youth, and families.

The full list of the subcommittees and member assignments is below:

Subcommittee on Primary Health and Retirement Security:

Republicans                                                  Democrats

Mike Enzi, Wyoming, Chairman                       Bernie Sanders, Vermont, Ranking Member

Richard Burr, North Carolina                           Tammy Baldwin, Wisconsin

Susan Collins, Maine                                      Chris Murphy, Connecticut

Bill Cassidy, Louisiana                                    Elizabeth Warren, Massachusetts  

Pat Roberts, Kansas                                       Tim Kaine, Virginia

Mitt Romney, Utah                                         Maggie Hassan, New Hampshire

Mike Braun, Indiana                                       Doug Jones, Alabama

Lisa Murkowski, Alaska                                  Jacky Rosen, Nevada

Tim Scott, South Carolina                            


Subcommittee on Employment and Workplace Safety:

Republicans                                                  Democrats

Johnny Isakson, Georgia, Chairman                Tammy Baldwin, Wisconsin, Ranking Member

Tim Scott, South Carolina                               Bob Casey, Pennsylvania

Rand Paul, Kentucky                                      Elizabeth Warren, Massachusetts

Mitt Romney, Utah                                         Tina Smith, Minnesota

Mike Braun, Indiana                                       Doug Jones, Alabama           

Richard Burr, North Carolina                            Jacky Rosen, Nevada

Bill Cassidy, Louisiana                                 


Subcommittee on Children and Families:

Republicans                                                  Democrats

Rand Paul, Kentucky, Chairman                  Bob Casey, Pennsylvania, Ranking Member

Lisa Murkowski, Alaska                               Bernie Sanders, Vermont

Richard Burr, North Carolina                       Chris Murphy, Connecticut

Bill Cassidy, Louisiana                                 Tim Kaine, Virginia

Pat Roberts, Kansas                                      Maggie Hassan, New Hampshire

Tim Scott, South Carolina                            Tina Smith, Minnesota         

Mitt Romney, Utah                                       

Alexander and Murray are “members ex officio” of all three subcommittees, which means they hold those positions by virtue of their roles as chairman and ranking member of the committee. 


Lamar Alexander is the senior senator from Tennessee, and he serves as chairman of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee, and the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development. For his full biography, click here.