Alexander Supports Dept. of Energy Nominees Responsible for Work at Oak Ridge National Laboratory & Oak Ridge Environmental Cleanup

Posted on November 19, 2015

WASHINGTON, Nov. 19, 2015 – U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) today released the following statements on his support for three U.S. Dept. of Energy nominees who will have oversight of federal facilities and programs in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. The U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources approved the nominations of Victoria Wassmer as Under Secretary of the Dept. of Energy, Dr. Cherry Murray as Director of the Office of Science at the Dept. of Energy and John Kotek as Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy at the Dept. of Energy:

On Victoria Wassmer: “Victoria Wassmer has an extensive background that should serve her well, and I appreciate her commitment to making cleanup of the East Tennessee Technology Park in Oak Ridge a priority.”

On Dr. Cherry Murray: “Dr. Cherry Murray understands the importance of funding research that leads to technology breakthroughs. She is well-qualified to be Director of the Office of Science, and I appreciate her commitment to strengthening this nation’s investment in supercomputing specifically and the Office of Science generally.”

On John Kotek: “John Kotek has had a strong background in nuclear energy, and I appreciate his commitment to ensuring that the nuclear facilities at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory are properly maintained and operated.”

Alexander continued, “I am impressed by the nominees’ experience, and I am glad the committee voted to approve their nominations so that they can now be considered by the full Senate.”

Alexander is the chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee’s Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development.


For access to this release and the senator’s other statements, click here.

To stay up-to-date on the senator’s latest actions, follow him on Twitter and YouTube.