Alexander, Corker, Wamp Announce $75,000 for the Clearfork Community Institute

Say Funding Will Help Complete Clearfork Community Development Education Center

Posted on October 9, 2008

U.S. Senators Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Bob Corker (R-Tenn.) and U.S. Representative Zach Wamp (R-Tenn.3rd) and today announced $75,000 in funding for the Clearfork Community Institute in Eagan from the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC). “Green buildings and energy efficiency are key components of achieving clean energy independence for our nation, and I’m glad to see this project coming to Eagan,” Sen. Lamar Alexander said. “ARC’s continued investment in our rural communities is bringing a better way of life to many East Tennesseans.” “Conservation, along with the development of our domestic energy resources, is essential to putting America on a path toward greater energy security. Completion of the Clearfork Community Development Education Center will once again showcase Tennessee as a leader in energy conservation projects and alternative energy research which has the potential to transform our economy and protect the environment,” Sen. Bob Corker said. “I thank the ARC for its continued investment in the future of East Tennessee and all of Appalachia.” “An all-of-the-above energy strategy to address our nation’s energy needs has to include efforts to increase energy efficiency. This grant will let the Clearfork Community Institute continue its commitment to community leadership in responsible energy use,” said Congressman Zach Wamp. The ARC funds, along with $123,200 from local sources, will complete construction of the Clearfork Community Development Education Center, a 6,000 square foot building using energy conservation and alternative technologies. This project will educate Institute students and raise awareness among 3,266 area residents on how to preserve nature and energy resources due to the environmental design of the building. It will also result in 5 area residents being trained in new employable skills. The ARC is a federal-state partnership that supports economic development and improved quality of life in Appalachia. Appalachia, as defined in the legislation from which the ARC derives its authority, is a 200,000-square-mile region that follows the spine of the Appalachian Mountains from southern New York to northern Mississippi. It includes all of West Virginia and parts of 12 other states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. About 23 million people live in the 410 counties of the Appalachian Region; 42 percent of the Region's population is rural, compared with 20 percent of the national population. The Tennessee counties included as part of the ARC include: Anderson, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Cannon, Carter, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke, Coffee, Cumberland, De Kalb, Fentress, Franklin, Grainger, Greene, Grundy, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Macon, Marion, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Overton, Pickett, Polk, Putnam, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Smith, Sullivan, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Warren, Washington, and White.