Alexander, Bennet Resolution Celebrates 17th Annual National Charter Schools Week

Joined by 26 senators to commemorate the contributions of 6,800 charter schools, serving nearly 3 million children

Posted on May 2, 2016

WASHINGTON, May 2 – Senators Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), along with 26 cosponsors, today commemorated the 17th annual National Charter Schools Week, which lasts May 1 through May 7 and congratulates the students, parents, teachers, and leaders of our nation’s 6,800 charter schools.

Senate education committee Chairman Alexander said: “Today, nearly 3 million students attend a charter school – these are schools that give principals the freedom to lead, more teachers the freedom to exercise their own good judgement and more parents the freedom to choose the school that is best for their child. Last year, in fixing No Child Left Behind, Congress worked in a bipartisan way to help states expand and replicate their best charter schools, and I intend to continue working on ways to give more students the opportunity to attend a high-quality charter school.”

Senator Bennet said: “All kids should have access to a high quality education no matter where they live. In Colorado, many charter schools are helping improve student achievement and preparing students for success in college and careers in the 21st century economy. National Charter Schools Week offers an opportunity to recognize the accomplishments of our teachers, school leaders, parents, and students who help create successful charter schools.”

The resolution, introduced last week, is cosponsored by 26 senators, including Sens. Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Mark Kirk (R-Ill.), David Vitter (R-La.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), John McCain (R-Az.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ron Johnson (R-Wisc.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jim Inhofe (R-Ok.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Ca.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), David Perdue (R-Ga.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)


For access to this release and the senator’s other statements, click here.

To stay up-to-date on the senator’s latest actions, follow him on Twitter and YouTube.