Alexander: House Judiciary Committee Vote Tomorrow on Bipartisan Songwriters Bill is “Major Step” Toward Passing into Law this Year

Posted on April 10, 2018

House committee will vote on legislative package, introduced today by Chairman Goodlatte, that includes Hatch-Alexander songwriters bill

WASHINGTON, April 10, 2018 – United States Senator Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) today said the House Judiciary Committee will vote tomorrow on a legislative package that includes his legislation, with Senator Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), to help songwriters be paid fair market value for their work.

“House Judiciary Committee Chairman Bob Goodlatte today introduced a package of 3 bills that includes our bipartisan Music Modernization Act, which now has 18 bipartisan Senate cosponsors from across the political spectrum. Chairman Goodlatte’s support for this legislation is crucial, and the House committee’s vote tomorrow on this package of bills is a major step toward turning our songwriters legislation into law this year,” Alexander said. “We’re in the age of the Internet and the laws governing what songwriters are paid are from the age of the player piano.  The Music Modernization Act addresses two of the greatest challenges facing songwriters: One is that the arrival of the Internet has meant that many songwriters aren’t paid royalties when their songs are played, and two, when they are paid, they aren’t paid a fair market value for their songs. It is the first major bill that has the support of music creators, publishers and digital music companies.”

Alexander continued: “Representatives Doug Collins and Hakeem Jefferies—both members of the House Judiciary Committee—have led the House effort on our legislation to help songwriters be paid fair market value for their work.”

Chairman Goodlatte’s legislative package includes three bills: Sen. Hatch’s Music Modernization Act, the CLASSICS Act, and the Allocation for Music Producers Act.

Alexander joined Senator Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), who introduced the Senate’s Music Modernization Act on January 24, as a cosponsor along with U.S. Senators Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Roger Wicker (R- Miss.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho).